Note by Note

Ken and I both watched Note by Note: The Making of Steinway L1037 this week.

As a player myself, as the owner of a Steinway & Sons L since shortly after my college graduation and *before* I had much to do with this piano guy, and as the lover of S&S CD 350, I wondered what took me so long to track this documentary down!   It’s a beautiful artistic presentation not only of complexity of building the highest quality instruments, but also the many facets of the “bonding” of players and instruments.   The ultimate, of course, is the “selection room” at S&S in New York.  Few players will have the opportunity to listen to the souls of those giant pianos played side by side.   Goes with the territory of the most esteemed accomplished pianists.    Ken and I both had the opportunity to play the pianos in the selection room of the Hamburg Steinway & Sons a few years ago though.  We toured the factory and Ken compared notes with several of the factory people.  A once in a lifetime opportunity.

Hamburg Steinway & Sons Selection Room

Leave a comment